365Runners
Welcome to 365Runners! We are here because we all share a running addiction. Whether training for a first marathon, a new PR, a new race distance, or anything else... welcome!

To stop the banner ads, please register and login. Otherwise, please enjoy browsing as a guest.

Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  fostever on Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:51 pm

OK, so I've agreed to do a review for Hal's upcoming release of "Marathon the Ultimate Training Guide," on Amazon. Just letting you know there are lots of quotes and input from his blog surveys. If this were "Romper Room," I would look through the looking glass or whatever it was (I always thought it was a tennis racket, cheap prop) and say, "I see: Seth and Peg and Dave and Lisa and Michael and Randy and Jim and Michele and Carleen. If you don't understand the Romper Room reference you are too young or were out of the syndicated viewing area.clown
avatar
fostever
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 1328
Points : 5290
Join date : 2011-06-16
Age : 59
Location : Chicago

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Julie on Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:02 pm

I'm in there too, about pacing. My copy is in the car, not getting much reviewing done on marathon weekend ;-) It is fun seeing so many familiar names!
avatar
Julie
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 2611
Points : 6358
Join date : 2011-06-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  fostever on Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:08 pm

@Julie wrote:I'm in there too, about pacing. My copy is in the car, not getting much reviewing done on marathon weekend ;-) It is fun seeing so many familiar names!
Oh yeah, and Julie and me! Kinda like romper room, every week I'd wait to see my name announced and then stand in wonder and awe as to how she knew I was watching!
avatar
fostever
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 1328
Points : 5290
Join date : 2011-06-16
Age : 59
Location : Chicago

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Julie on Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:09 pm

My husband thought it was cool I was in it and I'm showing it to my parents next wkend. I gotta take advantage of what little fame I get. Cool
avatar
Julie
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 2611
Points : 6358
Join date : 2011-06-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  fostever on Sat Sep 17, 2011 1:17 pm

Here's a Romper Room link in case I missed anybody else having fun at play today http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UuU2HcI1SgM&feature=related That magic mirror was kinda phychedelic doncha know!
avatar
fostever
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 1328
Points : 5290
Join date : 2011-06-16
Age : 59
Location : Chicago

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Jim Lentz on Sat Sep 17, 2011 2:35 pm

Am I in it? Should I get it?
avatar
Jim Lentz
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 1171
Points : 4414
Join date : 2011-06-15
Age : 56
Location : Downers Grove

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  dot520 on Sat Sep 17, 2011 3:13 pm

Romper Room??? Oh my gosh! She never saw me because my name wasn't popular back then....sheesh, watched probably every episode during the early 1960's and still....never seeing Dorothy. There was a show with Hobo Kelly and she would see kids too, but she would always tag on something...."I see Matt...oh, there's a present waiting for you.' Maybe that was a birthday club. Oh, well. Didn't see me either.

Sorry for the semi-hijack!
avatar
dot520
Top 10 Poster Emeritus
Top 10 Poster Emeritus

Posts : 780
Points : 3659
Join date : 2011-06-15
Age : 60
Location : Indy-sporting the cape of awesomeness

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Natalie on Sun Sep 18, 2011 5:39 pm

I remember Romper Room.

Am I in the new edition? I might need to go get it!
avatar
Natalie
Poster
Poster

Posts : 391
Points : 2820
Join date : 2011-06-15
Age : 54
Location : Cincinnati, Ohio

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Seth Harrison on Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:31 am

@Natalie wrote:I remember Romper Room.

Am I in the new edition? I might need to go get it!

I see you've let your hair go long Natalie...
avatar
Seth Harrison
Regular
Regular

Posts : 907
Points : 3567
Join date : 2011-06-15
Age : 56
Location : Irvington, NY

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  ounce on Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:16 pm

@Seth Harrison wrote:
@Natalie wrote:I remember Romper Room.

Am I in the new edition? I might need to go get it!

I see you've let your hair go long Natalie...



And other, um, changes, too!



On my quote, he asked me if he could use the specific quote I seemed to have posted. Since I don't put my name as the screen name, he asked for my real name, occupation and where I lived.



Maybe we should have a signing party at a marathon where we get together in the future.
avatar
ounce
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 4834
Points : 13324
Join date : 2011-06-26
Age : 60
Location : houston

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Dave-O on Wed Sep 21, 2011 11:56 am

IS MY NAME REALLY SPELLED "STUBBE!!!!"

Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad
avatar
Dave-O
Moderator
Moderator

Posts : 1736
Points : 4517
Join date : 2011-06-14
Age : 36
Location : Chicago

View user profile http://www.fleetfeetchicago.com/

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Julie on Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:39 pm

I looked up the title on Amazon but don't see how to post a review yet. If anyone has insights, let me know.

http://www.amazon.com/Marathon-Ultimate-Training-Programs-Marathons/dp/1609612248/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1316730787&sr=1-1
avatar
Julie
Explaining To Spouse
Explaining To Spouse

Posts : 2611
Points : 6358
Join date : 2011-06-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Hal's 4th Edition Review, I see lots of you!

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum